Your Evolving Coaching Philosophy

If everyone is thinking alike, then somebody isn’t thinking. ~General George S. Patton

My coaching philosophy has evolved over time. At the beginning of my career I had more grandiose visions of what I could achieve as a coach if every just did what I say. I was more immediate results and outcome oriented. I had something to prove to myself and the outside world. I wanted to be recognized for being a great coach. I retain some of the core principles from 30 years ago, and the same level of competitiveness. Over time, gradually, moment by moment like the effects of a waterfall on a rock, my coaching has been shaped into a more patient approach. My philosophy is much more transformed by being an educator first, and an achiever second, putting the person first and the athlete second. Sure, I am still all about winning and learning to win, but the way I go about it is very different than they way I began. 

Don’t Be a Clone

It seems silly to say it, but I am not trying to make a clone here in this work. I expect you the reader and coach to be different from me and my approach, instead I want to hear your voice, so that I can learn something new from you. One of the best reviews I have received on any of my books said, ‘While I don’t agree with the author on everything…’, and that is as it should be, because I don’t want to lead a cult, and the rest of the review was complimentary, capturing the essence of this book being more a conversation starter, a think piece rather than THE authoritative source of all coaching knowledge. I also know that the collaboration between all of us who are like-minded will be an influence on you, and by extension, the industry of coaching. When all the like-minded coaches who believe in true collaboration come together, the potential is there to transform the entire sporting world.

Refining Our Coaching Principles

 It’s a funny thing to hold strongly to principles, while at the same time allowing them to be challenged, tested, and refined. We all have to start somewhere. We see some coaches who hold fast to a dogmatic approach, that is deeply intrenched in old-school coaching techniques, for whatever reason. On the other end of the spectrum, there are coaches whose philosophy is not rooted in anything, and they are subject to the whims of players and parents. Those coaches have a hard time standing up for a principle for their team. I want to encourage you to examine and re-examine your coaching philosophy.  This is a great thing to do ahead of a period of being very busy as with summer programs. Another great time to reflect on our philosophy is before or right after a season. If you want or need to change the direction of your program. Albert Einstein said, ‘Insanity is doing the same thing over again, expecting different results.’  In order to get a different product, then our philosophy should dictate a different course of action. 

Gradual Transitions

If we look at the absolute now like a mighty evergreen tree standing on a landscape, we see something majestic standing resolute against the ravages of the weather, but what we don’t see are the minute changes happening moment by moment as it grows, blossoms, the leaves fall, and goes through this cycle year after year until it slowly dies. The major work of changing our coaching philosophies will look a lot like that. 

In order to develop a top notch coaching philosophy, having a handful of key principles is essential. Much of the power comes through simplicity. In discussion with other coaches about what they believe or don’t believe in, sometimes you find detractors, and it’s ironic to me that the detractors are not usually the ones who have strong opposing views, they are usually the ones who don’t seem to believe in much of anything. My pet theory is that they rail against those who stand on principle, because something inside them is triggered by the contrast between a principled coach and themselves.  I have had interactions in coaching forums where I face criticism, but when I question them about where the problem is in my coaching philosophy, they fail to be specific. When I ask them for a solid alternative, I have yet to get an answer that is something that resonates with me. You will meet people like this who will question what you do in a critical way, but when pressed, they won’t have sensible alternatives, but if they do, then listen to them. The part of the equation that I find difficult to reconcile is how disrespectful some of these people can be even in their presentation.  So, as a matter of developing a stronger sense of self-respect, develop a philosophy that has an element of respect for others as well. It takes work, and sadly some coaches do not want to take the time to do that work.  

Substance Over Self Satisfaction

Strangely enough, I see coaches who don’t seem to value anything other than what will boost their own ego. They aren’t necessarily thinking about what is best for their players, the league, helping other coaches, and/or the health of their sport. Their whole philosophy is centered around creating an image, short term results that can be seen, recruiting players they have not developed so that they can bask in their glory. You, being one of the conscientious coaches may find equal inspiration upon reflecting further about making all of your efforts directed to the players, the community and the health of the sport. To further expand on this topic, I am going to go on a lengthy analysis of a poem that embodies much of the character traits of great coaches. My hope is that you will take some careful time with each chapter, and create a little bit of time to reflect.

 

Bill Patton is a 30-year tennis industry professional, and a maverick leader. He is the author of 11 books, including most notably The Art of Coaching High School Tennis. He is the Executive Director of USATennisCoach and founder of Tennus.Life.  He is a PTR, USPTA Elite, and MTM certified Tennis Professional and an SEC Group Catalyst. Please reach out to Bill USATennnisCoach@gmail.com

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.